Farming in Norway

April 25, 2016

Intrepid explorer, I find myself presently in the airport of Trondheim Vaernes, Norway, awaiting my next mode of transportation.

I’ve been absent from this blog for quite some time, so a little catching-up is in order. In February and March, I spent three weeks Wwoofing on an organic sheep farm on the Norwegian island of Jøa. I am now headed back for an extra month.

Wwoofing (verb) : to participate in a Wwoof exchange : Wwoof is a great movement that puts volunteers into contact with organic farms around the world. You work on the farm for a certain number of hours every day, and are, in exchange, fed and housed. Check out the World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms homepage, or the Wwoof Norway website for more information.

DSCN0291

On a hilltop near the farm – wearing warm winter clothes! (February)

Jøa is beautiful, but only reveals itself to those adventurers brave enough to venture all the way there. The journey started early this morning, with my departure from the sadly (in)famous Brussels Airport. Due to enforced security, all passengers queued outside under a refreshing bout of hail. In Copenhagen, I had a connecting flight to Trondheim, my present location. My bus arrives in an hour and will carry me the three hours to Namsos, the nearest city to Jøa. The descent into Copenhagen was pretty magical. We seemed to have arrived at the end of the world, where sky and sea blended into one. A bridge rose up from the ocean and stretched to hazy blue shore.

In an uneventful trip, my biggest woe was being separated from my knitting needles. They qualify as weapons, I guess, and are therefore banned from carry-ons. I pride myself on having dealt rather well with this calamity, consoling myself with tea, daydreaming and

DSCN0539

An inquisitive sheep.

the reading of Villette. I also started a letter to my new pen pal! Yes, in the past few months, I have acquired a pen pal through the Jane Austen Letter Writing Society. We both
share a love of tea, chocolate, knitting, Harry Potter — and Jane Austen, of course (whom we sometimes refer to as simply … Jane. Gasp!).

On the farm, I’m looking forward to being able to just jump right into the thick of things, as by now I’m an old hand at this farming business. Yet, I will still be learning lots of new things, as the lambing season is well under way. I will also discover the landscape without snow. And hopefully, the temperatures will be a tad warmer than in February and the sun’s appearances more frequent.

8 thoughts on “Farming in Norway

  1. Tha adventure continues…how fun! When you were younger, I don’t think I would have ever imagined your future self on a farm! I’m glad you’re seeing the world and having new experiences…oh, the memories you’re making. Have fun, stay warm and keep us posted. XOXO

    • Dear Paula,
      Thanks for your comment, which made me smile! I guess I was more the kind that tried to keep clean when I was little 🙂
      As to staying warm, thank goodness, the sun is now out and shining brightly. Yay!
      Hugs to you!

  2. On our flight from Brussels to Atlanta in 1991 (to your parents’ wedding), I knitted a pair of gloves for Marc. He still wears them! They should encourage knitting on flights, it’s productive and calms the nerves 🙂

Leave a Reply

