Sketch: A Cat in the Streets of Brussels

Once again, I haven’t posted in a while. This time, I return with a sketch of a cat that I finished recently. It’s based on a picture I took in the streets of Brussels, walking home from the Musée d’Ixelles.Cat_Watercolor_Ixelles_2015bisThis cobblestoned street was a short stretch of countryside in the very heart of Brussels. Flowers bloomed in pots along the curb; the peach and blue houses boasted heavy, wooden shudders. Two of these, splintered and faded, stood on the ground, propped up against a wall. A lady stepped outside to water her plants and informed me that I was welcome to carry the shutters away, if I so desired.
The cat stretched and cast an indolent, yet imperious, gaze upon his surroundings.

 

I highly recommend the Musée d’Ixelles. It was my first time visiting and I was most impressed. Housed in a quaint brick building — formerly a slaughterhouse —, the collection focuses mainly on the XIXth and XXth centuries. What I enjoyed was discovering a large number of paintings by Belgian artists.
The museum’s permanent collection, along with an exhibit of Belgian landscape paintings and of Belgian painters in exile, are on display until September 20. More info here.

2 thoughts on “Sketch: A Cat in the Streets of Brussels

  1. Love your beautiful sketch! I have a favorite cat memory, that took place in downtown Brussels near the Sablon. We were eating outdoors, and across the way a man was walking his cat. No leash, the cat just accompanied his human down the street. So unusual, for a cat.

Leave a Reply

