To Brussels and Back Again

Hallo. Guten Abend. Guten Tag! (And all that stuff).

Last weekend I returned to Brussels. It felt really good to be home with my family. I spent a very peaceful and relaxing time with them, just doing nothing, reading, walking in the woods, and eating chocolate.

In honor of Brussels, a picture of flowers a-plenty before the cathedral. This was taken mid-March, while strolling through downtown with a friend (whom I got to see again this weekend!).

In honor of Brussels, a picture of flowers a-plenty before the cathedral.
This was taken mid-March, while strolling through downtown with a friend (whom I got to see again this weekend!).

Obviously, I stocked up on Belgian chocolate — and also brown sugar : it does make a chocolate chip cookie taste better and I just can’t seem to find it here.

Speaking of food, I had a very Allisonish moment on the ride over. The loudspeaker had just announced that we would have a “kurzes Essen”, or brief dinner. My first thought was : Hey, food! So I didn’t need to buy a sandwich after all. And then we pulled into the main train station of a delightful little town called … Essen.

My journey home was unfortunately rather more eventful.

My first train (to Köln) was cancelled. I ended up having to take a train to Liège, where I caught a bus to Köln — there were about two hundred people waiting, and a hundred times less buses. That all took a bit of time, so I arrived rather late in Bremen. And once there, my bus would not leave the train station. All the driver would impart was that there was a police intervention going on, and that we were indefinitely stuck there. Thankfully, however, despite all this disturbance, I still had enough time at the Köln train station to savor a cake donut from Dunkin Donuts. That certainly puts all the hassle in perspective.

Am Wall.

Am Wall.

Otherwise, here in Bremen, the day has been bathed in glorious sunlight. I went for a calm walk in the Am Wall park. (This lovely park wiggles across the city, following the path of the ancient fortifications). The trees were green, the bluebells a pale lavender, and the rhododendrons ablaze with color. Long live nature!

Flowers in the Am Wall park.

Flowers in the Am Wall park.

4 thoughts on “To Brussels and Back Again

  1. Je ne suis pas venue sur ton blog depuis bien trop longtemps. J’adore toujours autant lire tes aventures et admirer tes beaux dessins! J’espère que tout fleurit pour toi Allison !
    Je t’embrasse fort !
    Paola

Leave a Reply

