A magazine cover, tea, and lots of grey weather

Remember my saying ages ago that I’d drawn a cover for the college magazine? Here it is! The theme for that issue was Ecology. I wanted a theme-appropriate drawing that would not be too busy, so as to leave room for titles. As to symbolism, well, the concentric lines are open to many interpretations : tree rings, waves, the Earth’s layers, plain ol’ lines, etc. Around the edge you can spot a nuclear generator, Redwoods, and an elephant, among others. There’s even a Université Saint-Louis-flag!

My drawing for the cover.

My drawing for the cover.

Speaking of university, it’s exam time in Belgium (classes stop mid-December, with exams stretching all through the grey, blustery, cold month of January). There’s a light at the end of the tunnel, and I’ll get there — if administered enough chocolate and tea.

The final cover, with titles and everything!

The final cover, with titles and everything!

On the upside, I’ve been reading lots of good books recently, namely :  As You Wish (a must for all Princess Bride fans); The Girl from Yamhill (a memoir by Beverly Cleary), South Moon Under (a tale of biscuits, moonshine and survival by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings) and finally The Invention of Wings (by Sue Monk Kidd). The latter takes place in Charleston; I can imagine all the places that are mentioned, having been there this summer. I’m now reading Me, Myself and Bob, by Phil Vischer (of VeggieTales renown). This may or may not have led to loud renditions of The Water Buffalo Song. Oh, and I’ll leave you with a comical anecdote. The other day, I was waiting in line at driving school to make an appointment. The lady in front of me booked twenty hours of classes. This costs a whopping 1020 Euros. “I’ll pay cash,” the dame announced. Whereupon she produced a wad of fifty-Euro bills from her wallet, and lay them out in little piles all across the secretary’s desk, until it was completely covered. Well, happy Saturday evening to all! Everybody has a Water Buffalo Mine is fast but yours is slow…

Leave a Reply

